The Mississippi Paddle Steamer

1986 saw Lodge St Olaf make it’s first tentative steps towards Raft Race History, the 8 man crew could not have known that their first successful outing would claim  the first of 10 major awards for creative design. Year by year the entries became increasingly more elaborate but many still remember the joy of winning that very first time in what by comparative standards was a pretty simple construction.

In the days before political correctness, the Lodge made its maiden voyage in the Ythan Raft Race.

Result: The Winner of the Most Attractive Raft


Gordon Mackay
Doug Sheal
Martin Daley
Gordon Andrews
Jim Gardner
Jim Stewart